Postal address
Postbus 132, 4530 AC Terneuzen

Visitors address
Schelpenpad 2, 4531 PD Terneuzen, Nederland.

Tel: +31 (0) 115 647400, Fax: +31 (0) 115 647500


Ship Sanitation Certificate


You can apply for a Ship Sanitation Certificate (SCC) for use in Zeeland Seaports' port areas at the Zeeland Community Health Service (GGD Zeeland).  The SSC has been obligatory for vessels sailing on international waters since 15 June 2007. It was introduced to prevent the global spread of infectious diseases.


You can lodge a request for a SCC inspection at:


The inspection is carried out on the basis of the requirements laid down by the World Health Organisation (WHO). These requirements have also been laid down in the Dutch Public Health Act.


Types of certificates


There are three different types of certificates:

  •  Ship Sanitation Control Exemption Certificate (SSCEC): The ship is inspected and everything is satisfactory. The ship is exempt from sanitary inspections for six months.
  • Ship Sanitation Control Certificate (SSCC): A ship is inspected and problems are discovered. These problems will be included on the certificate and the ship must rectify them or solve them. Another inspection will be carried out once this has been done.
  • Extension of the Ship Sanitation Control Exemption Certificate (ESSCEC). We will provide you with an Extension of the Ship Sanitation Exemption Certificate (ESSCEC) in exceptional situation when circumstances are such that we are unable to carry out the requested inspection. This certificate extends the validity of your current certificate by one month.


WHO standards


The guidelines for inspections prescribed by the WHO state that the following items need to be deemed 'satisfactory'


(satisfactory = there is no evidence of infection or contamination. This includes all stages of vectors; animal reservoirs for vectors and pest, microbiological, chemical, nuclear and other health risks; signs of inadequate hygiene measures):

  • galley and food stores;
  • pantry and storage areas;
  • cargo hold;
  • crew and officers’ quarters;
  • drinking water;
  • sewerage;
  • ballast tanks;
  • waste (including medical waste);
  • stagnant water;
  • engine room;
  • medical facilities;
  • swimming pools and spas.